Frodus Soundlab 1

November 22, 2010

Frodus - Soundlab 1

Last week saw the release of some new music from Frodus in the shape of an EP called Soundlab 1. You can listen to it for free and get it here.

I think I set a new record for shortest time between finding out something is out and actually purchasing it. I got the link off of someone’s Facebook update, saw what it was, and purchased it immediately, at work. I couldn’t wait to get home. I put it in my phone, not my Ipod, because I had the adaptor with me at work. Admittedly, I’m a Frodus fan since FCI: Frodus Conglomerate International, and missed most of their earlier work. That Tooth and Nail album and the split EP with Roadside Monument, however are some of my favorite bits of music and I’ve always felt bad that I never saw them. They played a place in Miami called Space Cadet with Swivel Stick a band named Jihad that I’ve never been able to find out anything about. This was just before I became a fan. I’ve always regretted missing that show. Space Cadette wasn’t even far from my house. Later I stood outside a Promise Ring / Texas is the Reason show there. Another regret. I went to specifically to shop the distros that used to park themselves in and outside Miami hardcore shows and never actually went inside to watch the bands. I left that show with a Red Letter Day EP that I bought to support a new local label. I listened to it a couple of times and quickly forgot about it.

I think Space Cadette was called Box by then.

They also played the final Refused US tour. There’s some footage of that final show on the Refused are Fucking Dead DVD and that footage always brings tears to my eyes. I think it has to do something with loving my teenage years as a dumb-ass Straight-Edge hardcore kid so much. But I digress– Frodus were an important band. One that got back together last year after about ten years away.

I hope, hope, hope that this means I’ll finally get to see them live.

One Response to “Frodus Soundlab 1”

  1. prof. yaya Says:

    the link isn’t working for the Bandcamp – it’s adding an extra after the actual URL. http:// – try this: http://lovitt.bandcamp.com/album/soundlab-1


Leave a Reply

